Conservation Day at the Capitol 2009 (Post-Event)

Awards Presented for Conservation, Education and Communication

Awards presentation photos for news media

More Conservation Day photos

Deer Creek Conservation District was named Outstanding Conservation District. Sec. of Agriculture Terry Peach (right) presented the award.

The Oklahoma Association of Conservation Districts (OACD) and other sponsors presented awards to outstanding conservationists and conservation educators during Conservation Day at the Capitol on March 25. Awards were also presented to members of the press and conservation districts for outstanding efforts in spreading information about conservation. The various awards were cosponsored by Chesapeake Energy, the Nature Conservancy of Oklahoma and the Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation.

In the awards ceremony that took place in the Governor’s Blue Room, presenters included Oklahoma Sec. of Agriculture Terry Peach; Oklahoma Association of Conservation Districts President Jess W. “Trey” Lam III; Oklahoma Press Association Executive Vice President Mark Thomas; and Oklahoma Conservation Commission Chairman Dan Lowrance. Government Relations Director Sarah Gainer represented Chesapeake Energy, State Director Mike Fuhr represented the Nature Conservancy and Agricultural Division Director Wadell Altom represented the Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation in presenting the awards. In addition, several state legislators presented commendations to the honorees.

Alveta Taylor of Deer Creek Conservation District was named Outstanding Director. Wadell Altom, Samuel Robrts Noble Foundation (left), presented her with the award and a check.

The OACD Conservation Awards are presented according to three categories — Outstanding Conservation District, Outstanding District Director and Outstanding Landowner/Cooperator.

Deer Creek Conservation District received the Outstanding District Award, cosponsored by Chesapeake Energy. Sec. of Agriculture Terry Peach; Sarah Gainer, Chesapeake Energy; and Trey Lam, OACD, presented the award. The Deer Creek Conservation District office is in Weatherford.

Alveta Taylor of Thomas, on the board of directors of the Deer Creek Conservation District, received the Outstanding District Director Award, cosponsored by the Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation. Wadell Altom, Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation, presented the award.

Dale Wooderson of Blackwell received the Outstanding Landowner/Cooperator Award, cosponsored by the Nature Conservancy of Oklahoma. Wooderson is a cooperator with and was nominated by the Kay County. Mark Fuhr, Nature Conservancy, presented the award. Rep. Dale DeWitt presented Gallery Wooderson an Oklahoma State Legislature Citation.

Dale Wooderson of Blackwell, was named Outstanding Cooperator. Rep. Dale DeWitt presented Wooderson with a Legislative Citation. �From left are Rep. Dale DeWitt; Mike Fuhr, Nature Conservancy; and Eva and Dale Wooderson.

In addition, five teachers from across the state, one in each Congressional district, received Outstanding Conservation Educator Awards cosponsored by OACD and Chesapeake Energy. The recipients were Tammie Jones, Okay Public Schools; Caprice Coleman, Moss Public Schools; Sally Schmidt, Alva Public Schools; Jane Dmytryck, Norman Public Schools; and Gloria Vass, Edmond Public Schools. Sec. Of Agriculture Terry Peach, Sarah Gainer, Chesapeake Energy, and Trey Lam, OACD, presented the awards.

Excellence in Communication Awards were presented to two conservation districts and one newspaper publisher for outstanding efforts to support and promote conservation. Deer Creek and Kay County Conservation Districts were honored for Outstanding Public Information Campaigns. C.F. David, publisher of the Boise City News, received an award for Outstanding Continuing Support of Conservation by an Oklahoma Press Association Member Newspaper. Mark Thomas, OPA; Dan Lowrance, OCC; and Trey Lam, OACD; presented the awards.

During the day approximately 30 display booths were presented in the Capitol Fourth Floor Rotunda by a number of the state’s 88 local conservation districts, the Oklahoma Conservation Commission, the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service and other partner agencies and organizations. The displays featured diverse conservation activities across the state that address local natural resource needs.

Conservation Districts are local subunits of state government responsible for care of renewable natural resources. Each district is a governed by a board of five volunteer directors, and cooperates with the Natural Resources Conservation Service for technical assistance.

The Oklahoma Association of Conservation Districts is an independent nonprofit organization that promotes natural resource conservation through various activities as well as communication and cooperation with legislative bodies at the state and national levels.