Conservation Commission Reorganizes for Fiscal Year 2013

Mike Rooker Reappointed; Mike Thralls Returns to Work

At the beginning of the July 2012 meeting of the Oklahoma Conservation Commission, Mike Rooker was sworn in to serve his second term representing Area II on the Commission. Gov. Mary Fallin reappointed Rooker in March and the state Senate confirmed the appointment in May.

From left are Mike Rooker, Area II member; Karl Jett, Area I member and secretary; Jim Grego, Area V member and vice chair; Dan Lowrance, Area IV member and chair; George Stunkard, Area III member; and Mike Thralls, executive director.
Lisa Knauf Owen, OCC District Services director (left) swore in Mike Rooker for a second term as Area II Commission member.

The Conservation Commission members assumed their new officers’ positions for fiscal year 2013 at the meeting as well. Dan Lowrance, Area IV member, will serve as chair, with Jim Grego, Area V member, serving as vice chair and Karl Jett, Area I member, as secretary. George Stunkard continues to serve as Area III Commission member.

Mike Thralls, executive director, returned to work after recovering from surgery in time for the meeting. He underwent surgery in May for cancer affecting his spleen, pancreas and one kidney. He began returning to work on a part-time basis during the last week of June and attended the July 2, 2012, Commission meeting.