Conservation Commissioner for Area III

scotty herriman

appointed july 1, 2013

Scotty Herriman, a member of the Nowata County Conservation District board of directors, represents the northeast portion of the state as Area III member of the Oklahoma Conservation Commission. Governor Mary Fallin appointed Herriman to a five-year term beginning July 1, 2013. He was reappointed by Governor Fallin to serve a second five-year term beginning July 1, 2018.
A life-long, full-time farmer and a veteran of the U.S. Army, Scotty Herriman and Jo, his wife of 39 years, own and operate Herriman Farms at South Coffeyville, Okla., just south of the Kansas state line in Nowata County. Mr. Herriman has been a cooperator with the Nowata County Conservation District since September 1977 and a member of the district board of directors since November of the same year.

Mr. Herriman served two one-year terms as president of the Oklahoma Association of Conservation Districts in 2007-2008 and previously served several years as Area III director on the OACD board of directors. Other services and affiliations include the Cherokee Hills Resource Conservation and Development (RC&D) Council and served on the state RC&D Council; the Oklahoma Soybean board of directors; and the Tyro Christian Church of which he is an elder.

In 1985 Mr. Herriman was named Lexone Young Leader for the state of Oklahoma by the American Soybean Association. He was named Outstanding District Director in the Tulsa State Fair Conservation Awards in 1987. In 2012, Mr. Herriman was inducted into the Oklahoma Conservation Hall of Fame.

The Herriman’s have three grown sons, all married, and two grandchildren.

conservation districts in area III

Adair County
Caney Valley
Cherokee County
Craig County
Creek County
Delaware County
Mayes County
Muskogee County
Nowata County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Rogers County
Sequoyah County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County