Longevity

District Training June 2022




What is it?

State program created in 1982

to attract and retain employees

Conservation district employees
are not state employees, so at
first glance it seems you are not
eligible, but...

Title 74, Section 840-2.18b
includes language that
authorizes a longevity program
for district employees
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4-840-2.18

B. The Oklahoma Conservation Commission is hereby authorized to establish a longevity
pay program for employees of the conservation districts employed under Section
3-3-103 of Title 27A0f the Oklahoma Statutes. Such longevity pay program shall be
consistent with the longevity pay program for state employees authorized under
this title and payments shall be made in a manner consistent with procedures for
reimbursement to conservation districts.

Our program must be consistent with the state’s under the statute — rather than
reinventing the wheel, we utilize the state program’s guidelines and rules
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Who is eligible?

 Full time employees & permanent part-time employees with a minimum of two years’ service with

no break in service longer than 30 days
» Working 1,000+ hours in a year

« Will be included as part of personnel allocation; allocation report will show number of years and amount

» A “year” for longevity purposes = working 1,000+ hours in a 12-month period based on hire date
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Who is NOT eligible?

» Temporary part-time employees™

« Working 999 hour or less in year

» A “year” for longevity purposes = working 1,000+ hours in a 12-month period based on your hire
date

*|f a temporary part-time employee transitions to full-time or permanent part-time employment, they may be

eligible to receive service credit and longevity pay beginning in their first year of full employment
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What counts as “Creditable Service?”

FULL OR PERMANENT PART-TIME

» Working 1,000+ hours per year

* No break in service of more than 30 days

TEMPORARY PART-TIME

» Working 150 hours or less per month

« Employment is continuous for at least 5

months

« 2/5time worked (i.e. 40% of available

working hours)
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What counts as “Creditable Service?”

PARTIAL YEARS OF SERVICE

 Total years of service credit always

rounded down

« Example: 5 years, 10 months =5 years of

creditable service

ANNIVERSARY DATE

» Beginning of each employee’s 12-month

period for calculating longevity eligibility

» Most often will be your date of hire

e Circumstances do exist where the
anniversary date may not match your hire
date with the district
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What counts as “Creditable Service?”

» Not all service with all state entities is eligible
» Years spentteaching are not eligible

» Director service is not eligible

 Included in the hiring packet provided for new employees is a “Longevity Service Certification

Form”

 Assist the Commission and the employee in determining what service is creditable

» As of July 1, 2003, years of service at a local conservation district may be included when

determining longevity for a district employee who transfers to the Commission
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0CC is aware there may be permanent part-time employees or temporary part-time employees who
have transitioned to full-time that may be due longevity. We are working to determine who may be

affected and will contact districts individually once those determinations are completed.

Note:
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Payments

Same schedule as is set out for the state

program.

Payments begin after two years of eligible
service and continue as long as there is not a

break in service.

Payment should be made on the last working
day of the month of the employee’s
anniversary date or in the month immediately

following

Years of service

At least two years but less than four years
At least four years but less than six years
At least six years but less than eight years
At least eight years but less than 10 years
At least 10 years but less than 12 years

At least 12 years but less than 14 years

At least 14 years but less than 16 years

At least 16 years but less than 18 years

At least 18 years but less than 20 years

At least 20 years

Annual
longevity

payment

$250.00
$426.00
$626.00
$850.00
$1,062.00
$1,250.00
$1,500.00
$1,688.00
$1,900.00

$2,000.00

For each additional two years of service after the first 20 years, an additional
$200.00 shall be added to the amount stated for 20 years of service.
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Payments

» Employees must be in pay status on or after their anniversary date to be eligible for payments

» Longevity is paid in one lump sum annual payment
« Employees working at least 1800 hours per year (150+ hours/month) receive the full payment amount
« Employees working less than 1800 hours per year receive a prorated amount based on actual hours

worked in the preceding 12 months

» Employees who retire are eligible to receive a prorated longevity payment based on their accrued

service since their last longevity date
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District Process

Longevity payment must be included on an agenda for approval by the district board

» Longevity payroll worksheet should be provided & board must take action to approve the payment

Once approved, issue a check for the longevity payment

* Do notinclude longevity as part of regular payroll — cut a separate check

Report and pay required taxes and retirement

« Failure to report longevity in a timely manner can affect the employee’s retirement and bring the tax man

Claim longevity for reimbursement from 0CC

» Must be claimed during the fiscal year it is allocated
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Payroll Worksheet

Must be completed for
longevity

Taxes and retirement must 1 Monthly / Hourly Rate of Pay

be taken out

(Line I x Line 2)

0CC
Reimbursable
$2.000.00
2 Total Hours in Pay Status 1.00
3 Total Gross Earnings $2.000.00

0CC Column
Line 1 = Longevity amount
Line 2=1.00
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Preclaim

Complete longevity
summary at the bottom of
the form

Will calculate retirement &
add to the total for the
employee

Enter longevity information
the same column as regular
pay information (i.e. 1 & 1)

1 2 3
Emplovee Name: J Smith
Employee Title: Dist. Admin.
Hours Worked (173 hrs = full month): 173
OCC Gross Earnings: $2,460.00 $0.00 $0.00
Local Earnings: $173.00 $0.00 $0.00
Total Gross Earnings: $2,633.00 $0.00 $0.00
LONGEVITY SUMMARY -
1 2 3
Employee Name:|J Smith 0 1]
Longevity Amount: $2,000.00 $0.00 $0.00
Longevity Retirement (3.5 Percent): $70.00 $0.00 $0.00
Step Up Longevity Retirement (2.91 Percent): FALSE FALSE FALSE
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Taxes

« Must be paid and reported

« This includes reporting and paying any amount due to:
 Federal taxes (941)
« State withholding taxes
* Unemployment

« W2/W3
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4-840-2.18

B. The Oklahoma Conservation Commission is hereby authorized to establish a longevity
pay program for employees of the conservation districts employed under Section
3-3-103 of Title 27A0f the Oklahoma Statutes. Such longevity pay program shall be
consistent with the longevity pay program for state employees authorized under
this title and payments shall be made in a manner consistent with procedures for
reimbursement to conservation districts.

Statute says longevity payments must be made consistent with our other procedures
for reimbursing districts
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Claiming for Reimbursement

Include longevity on your regular salary reimbursement claim

Use code 94 — longevity

OSF-3 item amount = line 20 of the longevity payroll worksheet

Backup documents:
« Completed, signed in blue ink, longevity payroll worksheet

* Proof of payment of 941 taxes for longevity (can be part of reqular salary tax payment)

*A signed letter from the board state longevity is to be paid is no longer required!
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Takeaways

Payable on the last

Must be an eligible Payment must be working day of the month
employee to receive approved by the district of the anniversary date or

longevity

Retirement and taxes
must be paid and
reported (this includes
the preclaim)

board

the month immediately
following

Remember to claim for
reimbursement
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Questions?

July sessions will cover FY23 allocations & adopted policies; dates TBD.
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