Oklahoma Flood Control Dams Providing Municipal Water and Recreational Areas <u>Protecting Our People - Protecting Our Natural Resources</u>

This is one of many examples of how local, state and federal government agencies have worked together to utilize the Natural Resources Conservation Service Watershed Program to address natural resource needs and improve the quality of life for thousands of Oklahomans.

Oklahoma Flood Control Dams Provide Multiple Benefits

Oklahoma has 2,107 flood control dams in 61 counties that have been constructed by local units of government (primarily conservation districts) with the assistance of the Oklahoma Conservation Commission and the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) Watershed Program.

The primary purpose of the dams is flood control, but they also provide secondary benefits such as fish and wildlife habitat, livestock water, irrigation water, and fishing and recreational areas.

Over forty of these dams are considered to be multipurpose dams that provide municipal and/or recreational areas or have added water storage for wildlife or irrigation. City government agencies or state agencies are usually cosponsors of these dams and paid for additional water storage beyond that needed for flood control.



Caddo Creek Dam No.13 (Lake Jean Neustadt) Carter Co. Caddo Creek Dam No. 18 (Lake Scott King) Carter Co. Cherokee Sandy Dam No.17M (Lake Longmire) Garvin Co. Caney-Coon Creek Dam No. 2 (Coalgate Lake) Coal Co. Deep Red Run Dam No. 1 (Lake Frederick) Tillman Co. Finn Creek Dam No. 34 (Wiley Post Lake) McClain Co. Fitzgerald Soldier Creek Dam No. 3 (Langston Lake) Logan Co. Fourche Maline Dam No. 7 (Lake Lloyd Church) Latimer Co. Kickapoo Nations Dam No. 1M (Bell Cow Lake) Lincoln Co. Lower Black Bear Dam No. 19M (Lone Chimney Lake) Pawnee Co. N. Deer Creek Dam No. 1M (Wes Watkins Lake) Pottawatomie Co. Okfuskee Tribs Dam No. S-1 (Dripping Springs Lake) Okmulgee Co. Quapaw Creek Dam No. 1 (Sparks Reservoir) Lincoln Co. Quapaw Creek Dam No. 15 (Meeker Lake) Lincoln Co. Robinson Creek Dam No. 4M (Prague Lake) Lincoln Co. Rock Creek Dam No. 2 (Lake Carl Albert) Latimer Co. Rush Creek Dam No. 1 (Rush Springs Lake) Grady Co. Sallisaw Creek Dam No. 18M (Stilwell Lake) Adair Co. Salt-Camp Creek Dam No. 12 (Stroud Reservoir) Creek Co. Spring Creek Dam No. 1 (Lake Chickasha) Caddo Co. Stillwater Creek Dam No. 40 (Lake McMurtry) Payne Co. Upper Bayou Dam No. 10 (Healdton Lake) Carter Co. Upper Black Bear Dam No. 62 (Perry Lake) Noble Co. Sergeant Major Creek Dam No. 4 Roger Mills Co. Wildhorse Creek Dam No. 107 (Elmore City Lake) Garvin Co. Wildhorse Creek Dam No. 22 (Lake Humphreys) Stephens Co. Wildhorse Creek Dam No. 39 (Lake Fugua) Stephens Co.



North Deer Creek Dam No. 1 in Pottawatomie County is one of the dams that was constructed for flood control, municipal water supply and recreational areas.

There are 129 watershed projects in Oklahoma that have been planned and implemented by local people with assistance from the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and the Oklahoma Conservation Commission.

2,107 flood control dams have been constructed in 61 Oklahoma counties. These watershed projects that also include thousands of conservation practices provide over \$81 million in average annual benefits.

For additional information about watershed projects in the state visit the Oklahoma Conservation Commission website at: http://conservation.ok.gov or visit your local conservation district and NRCS office.





USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. This publication is issued by the Oklahoma Conservation Commission, in cooperation with the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, as authorized by Mike Thralls, executive director. Copies have not been printed but are available through the agency website, http://conservation.ok.gov. September 2011