
       District Directors’ Responsibilities:
      A 10-Minute Guide Series

This is one in a continuing series of informational/discussion topics designed to help conservation district directors
become more informed and knowledgeable about their responsibilities. It is suggested that board members
review these guides before a board meeting and then have a ten-minute discussion on them at a meeting.
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Guide No. 31 - Compensatory Time / Work Week Adjustment
District employees can be compensated for hours worked in excess to their normal 40 hour work week or 80 hour
flex-time work period. There are different rules for employees dependent on whether or not they are considered
exempt or nonexempt employees. Conservation district directors should have a good understanding of how
compensatory time, work week adjustment and overtime pay can be authorized, earned and used.

Are Your Employees Considered Exempt or
Nonexempt Employees?
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), a federal law that
establishes such things as minimum wage and overtime
pay, recognizes two basic categories of jobs:
Non-exempt -those employees covered by this act.

Exempt- those employees not covered by the this act

Directors need to understand which category their
employees fit in to because there are different rules for
each. Part-time employees are not eligible for
compensatory time or workweek adjustment.

The Oklahoma Conservation Commission has
classified the following district positions as follows:

Non-exempt:
Secretary I & II
Engineering Aide
Equipment Manager
Temporary/Seasonal
Exempt:
District Administrative Officer
District Manager
Program’s Coordinator
Water Quality Specialist
Education Coordinator
If your district has a question about the proper category
for your employee, contact the Oklahoma Conservation
Commission District Services Division.

Regardless of an employee’s FLSA status all
compensatory time and workweek adjustments
must be pre-approved by the board.   Accrual of
comp time and/or adjusting the workweek should be
the exception not the rule.  An employee who chooses
to come in early or stay late on any given day does not
constitute a proper accrual of compensatory time.
Non-Exempt Employees
There are two ways non-exempt employees may be
compensated for hours worked in excess of their
established 40 hour work week or 80 hour flex time
work period:

(1) Work week adjustment:
This is the method most often used to compensate
employees for working more than 40 hours in a work
week (or 80 hours for those with flex-time schedules)
and the method recommended by the Oklahoma
Conservation Commission.
Compensatory time at the rate of hour-for-hour must
be given within the work week it was accrued. For
example, an employee who normally works from 8 a.m..
to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, and has worked 40
hours by 1 p.m. Friday, may be given time off from 1
p.m. to 5 p.m. on that Friday. If an employee is
scheduled to work on a Friday or Saturday, the work
week can be adjusted so the employee can take off
time during the first part of the week so they won’t
exceed 40 hours.
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(2) Compensatory Time in Lieu of Work Week
Adjustment:

In this case compensatory time is earned at the rate of
1.5 hours for every hour over 40 or 80 hours worked.
Any balance of any unused compensatory time not taken
within 180 days must be paid to the employee at the
regular pay rate for the period in which it was earned.
Accrued compensatory time must be exhausted prior
to taking annual leave.
Conservation districts are to restrict employees to a 40
hour work week (or 80 hours in a two-week work period
for those with flex-time schedules) except in those
cases where excessive hours of work are necessary
due to additional activities or emergencies.

Compensatory Time Compensation for Exempt
Employees
Exempt employees are not entitled to overtime pay or
compensatory time.  However, a district board may vote
to allow compensatory time to exempt employees on
an hour for hour basis, one hour off for each hour
worked over their scheduled 40-hour week.
The maximum compensatory time which may be
accrued is 240 hours. The hours must be taken within
180 days. The time period may be extended to an
additional 180 days upon approval by the district board.

Requests for compensatory time must be made and
approved in advance.

Compensatory time must be exhausted prior to any
annual leave being taken.

If exempt employees attend out of town meetings
requiring overnight stay, only the time actually spent in
the meeting would be considered over time.
District Policy on Compensatory and Overtime
It is important for a district board to:

1. Establish a district policy on work week
adjustments and how compensatory and
overtime will be approved

2. Ensure district employees have a copy of that
policy (a signed copy of the policy signifying
receipt should be placed in the employee’s
personnel file)

3. Require in the policy that employees make a
request in advance for work week adjustment,
compensatory or overtime hours

4. Monitor the hours approved, used, and currently
available to employees

Districts need to remember that if an employee
resigns their position or is terminated, the district
will be required to pay that employee for all
compensatory hours with local funds.

If districts have questions about compensatory or
overtime rules for employees or would like help with a
district policy on the issue they can contact the
Oklahoma Conservation Commission, District Services
Division.
Overtime Pay
If a district board authorizes overtime pay for
employees, the overtime payment must be paid from
local earned funds. Requests for overtime must also
be requested and approved in advance by the district
board.
No state funds will be used for payment of overtime.
Also, retirement contributions are not paid on overtime
hours.


