
District Directors’ Responsibilities:
A 10-Minute Guide Series

This is one in a continuing series of informational/discussion topics designed to help conservation
district directors become more informed and knowledgeable about their responsibilities. It is suggested
that board members review these guides before a board meeting and then have a ten-minute discussion
on them at a meeting.

Oklahoma Conservation Commission

Guide No. 27- Procurement
State laws governor the procurement of equipment, furniture, supplies and vehicles by a district. It is the
responsibility of district directors to be knowledgeable about these laws and other rules when spending state or
locally-earned funds.

Restrictions
It is unlawful for district directors to award a contract
to their relatives within the third degree by blood or
marriage or to purchase goods and services from a
district director or district employee.

Sales Tax
Districts are entities of state government and
therefore do not pay state or city sales tax. Districts
can request a letter f rom the OCC accounting
department stating the district is exempt from sales
tax by Title 68 O.S. 1991 Section 1356 (A).

Procuring Supplies and Equipment
Supplies and equipment may be purchased locally
or through the Oklahoma Conservation Commission
(OCC) of fice. The State of Oklahoma annually
awards contracts for equipment and supplies that
are available for use by districts and can provide for
savings on many items. Contact OCC to see if the
item you are needing is on a state contract.

To purchase supplies and equipment on a state
contract, Form OCC-7A must be completed and
mailed to OCC.

Funds for supplies or equipment requested through
the OCC can be deducted f rom the dis tr ic t’s
operating expense account or the original invoice
will be provided to the district for payment from the
district’s locally earned funds.

Competitive Bid Requirement
Contracts and agreements paid with state funds are
subject to the competitive bid requirement. No
purchase or contract can be made in excess of
$2,500 without first securing competitive bids.

This applies to the total cost of the purchase,
contract, or project. Splitting purchases for the
purpose of evading the requirement of competitive
bidding is a felony. For example, if a district wishes
to fence a watershed dam, it is not legal to purchase
fence posts for $1,500 from one supplier, wire for
$1,000 f rom another, and staples for $200
somewhere else, as the total cost of the project
exceeds $2,500.

Before entering into a contract or agreement that
will involve the expenditure of state appropriated
funds for any purpose and for any amount, the district
must secure the approval of the OCC.

When purchasing locally and the acquisition is for
an amount more than $2,500, OCC suggests the
district solicit price quotations for the acquisition from
three or more vendors. Vendors should be allowed
a minimum of 24 hours in which to prepare their bids.

Maintaining Equipment Inventory
All equipment costing $500 or more must be included
on the district’s inventory. If state funds are used for
the purchase of the equipment, a decal will be
provided by the OCC to be placed on the item. A
decal is required for every piece of equipment costing
$500 or more purchased partially or entirely with state
funds.

Equipment inventories should be updated annually.



Disposition of Equipment
Equipment purchased in full or in part from state
funds (reimbursed from the district’s allocation or paid
for by the OCC) may only be disposed of by the
Department of Central Services. This inc ludes
equipment in working, broken, or unsalvageable
condition.

To dispose of such equipment, a Request to Dispose
of Equipment, Form OCC-7C, must be submitted to
the OCC. The OCC will then contact the Department
of Central Services who will offer the used equipment
to the public.

Equipment purchased from locally-earned funds
should be disposed of by first offering it for sale to
other conservation districts. If it does not sell in this
manner, it should be advertised for sale locally to
the public and bids should be accepted.

A dis tric t director, distric t employee or NRCS
employee should be allowed to purchase a piece of
district equipment only if this procedure is followed
and the director or employee is the high bidder.

Stolen Property
If a piece of equipment, purchased either partially or
entirely with State funds is stolen, the district must
first notify the local law authorities to have a police
report completed. The district must then submit a
copy of the police report accompanied by a letter
requesting that the property be removed from
inventory.

More Information on Procurement:
Chapter 7 of the Conservation District Handbook
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